How Much Car Insurance Coverage Need for Drivers in Oklahoma

Feb 1st, 2011 | By Hot News Reporter | Category: Insurance Today

Oklahoma residents require drivers to carry the liability insurance. The liability insurance coverage for drivers in Oklahoma is $25,000 for injury that involves one person, $50,000 for injury of multiple persons and $25,000 for damages done to the properties. In short, the minimum liability insurance for Oklahoma is written as 25/50/25.

In Oklahoma, drivers are not required to purchase the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Oklahoma is a Tort state just like most states in America. As a Tort state, the culprit of the accident is responsible for paying all the damages associated with the accident. Auto insurance company in Oklahoma has the right to exclude certain household members from the coverage. You can find information about the exclusion in the exclusion section of the auto insurance policy. It is important that you read the automobile insurance agreement about your responsibility before putting down your signature. In this way, you will know what terms you are bound into as an auto insurance policy holder.

If you rented a car to drive on the highway, make sure that it is insured otherwise you will get fined. The cost for liability insurance for rental car is about $7 – $14 per day. The rental car insurance can be obtained from either the credit card company or auto insurance company. If the rental car insurance coverage is included in your credit card agreement, you don’t have to purchase it individually from the auto insurance company.

Oklahoma follows the rules of the Tort System. Therefore, if you are at fault in the accident, you must pay for the damages. You will be liable to pay the damages for medical costs, car repair, legal fees and etc. Accidents can happen at anytime so it is recommended that you get higher coverage than the minimum requirement. In this way, you don’t have to be afraid of losing all your money when you encounter an accident. Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance. If you fail to carry insurance proof, you will be fined up to $250. Under the law of Oklahoma, drivers without insurance proofs can be punished with imprisonment. You will be imprisoned for up to 1 month if you did not provide car insurance proof.

The average cost of vehicle insurance coverage in the state of Oklahoma is $659 per year. The cost for the auto insurance coverage in Oklahoma is ranks as the 38th most expensive in the United States.

Bookmark and Share

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.