How Much Car Insurance Coverage Do You Need in Ohio State?

Sep 30th, 2010 | By Hot News Reporter | Category: Insurance Today

Ohio requires every driver that operate or park a vehicle on the highway to be covered with insurance. The bodily injury liability insurance limit for per person is $12,500. The limit for all the persons in the bodily injury liability insurance is $12,500. The limit for the property damage liability is $7,500. Ohio follows the tort system when an accident occurs. The tort system requires you to prove that you are at fault otherwise the insurance company won’t offer coverage. The uninsured/underinsured bodily injury motorist coverage is not required by Ohio. Though Ohio did not require you to purchase this coverage, you should buy it. The uninsured/underinsured coverage offers compensation if the other person that is responsible for the accident is not covered.

It is not necessary to buy the car insurance. If you choose to not meet the insurance minimum, you must possess a $30,000 bond which is from an licensed surety company. The $30,000 bond can also be obtained from the insurance carrier. The certificate of proof of financial responsibility can also be used to establish financial responsibility. The certificate must be signed by a licensed insurance agent. The Bureau of Motor Vehicle (BMV) certificate should show that you have a cash deposit of $30,000. The BMV certificate of self insurance can be used as roof of financial responsibility by people that have more than 26 vehicles.

The cost of the car insurance can be expensive for first time driver. If you have a good driving record, you can get discount for the insurance coverage. If you purchase all your insurance from the company, you may get a cheaper premium rate.

Your vehicle will be suspended if you are unable to provide an insurance proof when stopped by the law enforcement officer. After your vehicle is suspended by the BMV, you will receive a letter. The letter request that you submit the insurance policy proof and reinstatement fee to the specified address. Alternatively, you can attend the traffic court and show the car insurance proof. The BMV will randomly select a driver and ask him to show the insurance proof. When you receive the notice, you must show your insurance proof within the allotted time. If you fail to provide insurance proof, your vehicle registration will be suspended. If this is the first time you fail to show proof, your car driving license will be suspended for 90 days.

Bookmark and Share

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.