Automobile Insurance Requirements for Indiana Drivers

Apr 20th, 2011 | By Hot News Reporter | Category: Insurance Today

Indiana vehicle owners have to purchase several types of coverages. The three types of insurance coverage you are required to purchase include uninsured, underinsured and property damage insurance coverage. There is a minimum requirement that you purchase $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for a single victim accident. For multiple victims in a single accident, the uninsured insurance’s minimum requirement is $50,000. The minimum requirement for underinsured motorist coverage is $50,000 for a single victim accident. Depending on the condition of your vehicle, you should get more car insurance coverage. You can buy additional insurance coverage such as comprehensive and collision coverage. It is best that you buy additional insurance coverage because the costs that are involved in an accident can be expensive.

You don’t have to buy auto insurance to establish financial responsibility. Getting an insurance policy is the easiest way to have proof of financial responsibility. If you decide to purchase auto insurance, you have to carry the insurance card all the time. Alternatively, you can get a policy from a licensed insurance provider. You can place a deposit of $40,000 with the state treasurer. Bonds that are issued by a surety company can be used to establish financial responsibility. The proof of insurance has to be provided when you are registering for the vehicle.

Insurance agents usually will submit your information through the Electronic Insurance Forms Submission (EIFS) program. You can ask your insurance agent whether he had already signed up for the Electronic Insurance Forms Submissions program. In this way, you will be able to avoid errors in the long-term. It is important that you bring along your insurance proof because the law enforcement office at any time. If you are unable to provide insurance proof, you will receive the Certificate of Compliance by the DMV. Once you receive the document, you have 40 days to submit the proof. If you fail to send in the proof and pay the fine within 40 days, the DMV will suspend your driving license.

It is important that you don’t only buy the auto insurance to meet the basic requirement. Doing so will put you in high financial risk. Most of the accidents that occur in America have higher cost that the minimum requirements set by the state. If you happen to be at an accident, you will have to use your own savings to pay for the damage costs. To avoid this type of situation, you should buy as much insurance as possible. By doing so, you will be able to protect yourself from high financial risk. Before buying insurance, be sure to compare the rates between different companies. You can take advantage of the auto insurance quote search engine to do research on the insurance rates. To get quote, you simply fill in your zip code in the online quote request form. There are many insurance sites that provide insurance rate quote forms. After filling in your zip code, you will be asked to choose the provider. Once you have chosen the provider, you can sign up with him.

Bookmark and Share

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.