Indiana Car Insurance (IN)
There are laws governing auto insurance in Indiana and if you happen to be a resident of this State or are in the process of moving to this area, it will be good to be aware of just what you are required to have as far as the coverage for your car is concerned. There are certain minimum requirements when it comes to the auto insurance coverage that you should get. In the State of Indiana, your auto coverage has to be able to pay for at least $25,000 in personal injuries, $10,000 in property damages, and $50,000 overall payables for each occurrence.
It is very important that you meet these minimum requirements because in the event that you have been found guilty of causing a car accident that has led to the destruction of property as well as personal injuries to one or more people, the courts will compel you to pay for such damages. If you happen not to have sufficient coverage, not only will you be punished for such offense, but you will also have to pay for the damage claims personally, which means you will have to spend a great deal of your own money, setting you back financially.
The owner or operator of a vehicle must have minimum liability coverage:
- $25,000 per person for Bodily Injury;
- $50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury;
- $10,000 per accident for Property Damage;
- Bodily injury liability;
- Property damage liability;
Proof of insurance required:
- At registration (YES)
- At time of accident (YES)
- At all times in vehicle (NO)
(I.I.I.) recommends you carry $100,000 of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident.