California Car Insurance Requirements, Laws and Coverage
In California, every driver is required to purchase the liability insurance. Under the (California Vehicle Code [CVC] 16058), the insurance company is responsible for reporting the insurance of the private use vehicles. The insurance companies are not responsible for reporting vehicles that are covered by business insurance. Financial responsibility is necessary for vehicles that operate on the highway of California. Vehicles that park at the Californian highway must be covered by insurance. You have to show evidence of financial responsibility every time you are asked by a law enforcement officer, and renewing the registration of a vehicle. You must also show the proof of financial responsibility when you encounter an accident.
You have to purchase the bodily liability insurance that worth at least $15,000 per person. It should offer a compensation of $30,000 for accidents that involve multiple persons. The coverage for the property damage should be $5000. If you don't have money to buy the insurance, you can sign up for the California Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program. If you don't want to meet the minimum requirement, you should get a cash deposit that worth $35,000 with DMV, Alternatively, you can get the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) self insurance certificate. You can also get a surety bond for $35,000 from a legitimate company in California.
If you are stopped by the law enforcement officer, you have to provide a proof of financial responsibility. The proof of financial responsibility can be a document card, DMV authorization letter, California Proof of Insurance Certificate, proof or leased vehicle, statement of facts (REG 256) and notification of alternative forms. The DMV authorization letter is for people that have cash deposit or self insured. The insurance identification card can be obtained from the insurance company.
DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) will be notified if you did not submit a replacement policy for your expired policy within 45 days. Your vehicle will be suspended if you fail to submit insurance information to DMV within 1 month of the registration card's issuance. You also must submit the insurance information if you did not transfer the ownership.
DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) will send you a letter after your vehicle is suspended. When you receive the letter, you should immediately submit the reinstatement requirements through the Vehicle Registration Suspensions and Insurance page. You can also send the insurance reinstatement fee to the mailing address of DMV or call them.
California Insurance Resources
California Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program
For more information about this state-sponsored plan for low-income drivers, call (800) 622-0954
California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan (CAARP)
For more information about the State’s insurance plan for high-risk drivers, call (800) 622-0954
California Department of Insurance
- 300 South Spring Street, South Tower
- Los Angeles, CA 90013
- Phone: (800) 927-4357
California Department of Transportation
- P.O. Box 942873
- 1120 N Street
- Sacramento, CA 94273
- Phone: (916) 654-5266