Minnesota Car Insurance Requirements, Rules and Laws: Adequate Protection On The Road
Anyone who knows how difficult it is to figure in an automobile accident and not have adequate financial protection from it would stress the importance of taking out an ample amount of car insurance coverage. More than just complying with the state requirements, having adequate car insurance coverage gives you a cushion to fall into in case you cause an accident and are burdened with the unexpected expenses that you are held liable for. In the state of Minnesota, insurance coverages follow a no-fault system. This means that you can collect on your insurance coverage whether the injury claims in question are caused by you or any other motorist. In cases of serious accidents, however, you might lose some of your rights to hold the negligent party liable for expenses. It is important that you apprise yourself of Minnesota car insurance requirements, rules and laws so that you are able to take out the policy that will give you the best kind of protection.
The minimum coverages in Minnesota car insurance requirements, rules and laws is a 30/60/10 coverage. This is just about the average minimum limits in as far as bodily injury liability and property damage are concerned. This means that for every injured person in a vehicular accident, the insurance company will pay up to $30,000. The insurance company also agrees to pay for bodily injury up to a limit of $60,000 in total. The minimum coverage limit for property damage liability is set at $10,000. Car insurance laws in Minnesota also require that you have a personal injury protection of at least $40,000 to compensate you and your passengers for reasonable and necessary medical expenses that you incur as a result of an accident. Unlike other states, Minnesota’s Department of Motor Vehicle also requires you to have protection for uninsured/underinsured motorists. Your minimum coverage for bodily injury caused by uninsured or underinsured motorists is $25,000 per injured person, or a total of $50,000.
While these are the set minimum amounts of coverage, you can actually take out insurance coverages with higher limits. Although you would naturally want to be covered for more, you might not necessarily have to. Depending on your perceived risks, you can actually settle for the minimums or maybe request for something a little bit higher. There will be differences in costs. It will be up to you to determine whether or not the kind of protection you are getting is worth the money. The important thing is that you get the kind of protection that you need for premiums that fit within your budget.
Minnesota Department of Commerce
- 85 7th Place East, Suite 500
- St. Paul, MN 55101
- Phone: (651) 297-4288
- Fax: (651) 296-9434
Minnesota Department of Transportation
- 395 John Ireland Boulevard
- Saint Paul, MN 55155
- Phone: (651) 296-3000