Maine Car Insurance Requirements, Rules and Laws: More Coverages for Less Premiums
There are minimum car insurance requirements that you have to comply with if you want to legally be able to drive your car in Maine. Your car insurance from another state might not be acceptable in Maine if they do not meet at least the minimum required by the state’s Department of Motor Vehicle. It is important for any responsible motorist to learn about Maine car insurance requirements, rules and laws before he takes his car out on the roads of Maine. You have to particularly note that Maine follows a tort system. This means that the person who is found at fault in a vehicular accident will be held liable for all the damages.
There are several coverage that you will have to look at when getting your car insurance. The basic coverage usually includes coverage for bodily injury liability and property damage. In Maine, however, the minimum requirement is for the basic coverage plus uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury, and provisions for medical payments. The basic coverage required is a 50/100/25 coverage. This means that you should have a bodily injury minimum of $50,000 coverage for every injured person in an accident up to a maximum of $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage liability. In case your accident is caused by an underinsured or an uninsured motorist, you need to have a minimum coverage of $50,000 per injured person up to a maximum of $100,000. Additionally, the state also requires that you have at least $1,000 provision for medical payments to cover for expenses in medical treatment or funeral arrangements for anyone who is injured or killed in an accident while in your car.
While the limits for Maine car insurance requirements, rules and laws might be higher than most states, you will find that the car insurance premiums are lower than the average. It is also worthy of note that the average car insurance costs in Maine are on a downtrend. It has been tracing a downward curve since mid-year. If you want to take out a car insurance coverage in Maine, now is the time. You have to be ready with a budget of around $1,100 to get the minimum car insurance coverage in Maine. You have to remember, though, that these premiums could go higher depending on your driving record, the type of your car, and the kind of traffic conditions you drive in. To get a more accurate picture of how much it would cost to insure your car in Maine, you can ask for quotes from several car insurance companies.
Maine Department of Insurance
- 124 Northern Avenue
- Gardiner, ME. 04345
- Phone: (888) 577-6690
- Fax: (207) 624-8599
Maine Department of Transportation
- 16 State House Station
- Augusta, ME 04333
- Phone: (207) 624-3000
- Fax: (207) 624-3001