Privacy Policy by TRUSTe
Auto insurance
Life Insurance
Health Insurance
Home Insurance
Business Insurance
Other Insurance
Compare Car Insurance Rates in LA
Currently Insured: Yes No

Louisiana Car Insurance (LA)

Louisiana Car Insurance

The owner or operator of a vehicle must have minimum liability coverage:
- $15,000 per person for Bodily Injury;
- $30,000 per accident for Bodily Injury;
- $25,000 per accident for Property Damage;

Insurance required:
- Bodily injury liability;
- Property damage liability;
- No-fault state? (NO);

Proof of insurance required:
- At registration (YES)
- At time of accident (NO)*
- At all times in vehicle (YES)
* Insured or law enforcement officer must provide proof of insurance after an accident to the Department of Insurance and other state agency.

(I.I.I.) recommends you carry $100,000 of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident.

Louisiana Car Insurance Requirements, Laws and Coverage

Auto insurance is mandatory in Louisiana and drivers must be able to provide proof that they are insured upon request. A suitable document or card will be provided by the insurance company. Policies must also meet certain minimum requirements.

Motor insurance policies in Louisiana must include a certain amount of liability coverage. Policies must offer at least 15,000 dollars of liability coverage per person for accidents, 30,000 dollars per accident for injury or death and 25,000 dollars for property damage.

Uninsured or underinsured driver coverage is not required in Louisiana, although drivers can opt to pay for this type of coverage. A Tort system applies in Louisiana, so blame must be attributed to somebody when an accident occurs. The person who is found to be at fault will be responsible for all of the damages. The optional uninsured driver coverage can protect drivers in the event that the other driver is not adequately insured.

In Louisiana, it is mandatory to be covered by insurance when driving any car, even if it has been rented. Most auto insurance policies that are issued in this state will cover rental vehicles, as will many credit card policies. If a driver who is renting a car in Louisiana does not already have coverage to drive a rental vehicle, they must take out a suitable insurance policy. The rental car company will offer this insurance.

Motor insurance providers in Louisiana can exclude specific members of the household from an insurance policy under the Excluded Driver or Household Exclusion. Car owners should ensure that all the members of their family or household who are going to be driving their vehicle are covered by their insurance.

Insurance companies in Louisiana may use personal credit histories to determine the rates and offers that they make to drivers. Insurers will also consider other factors such as the type of car that is being insured, the age and gender of the driver, and how often and far the car will be driven.

When a car insurance policy lapses in Louisiana, the driver's license is automatically flagged. Drivers will need to provide proof of insurance or of their reason for no longer requiring insurance in the state in order to remove the flag. Penalties will be applied if such proof is not provided within ten days of the lapse in the insurance policy.

Enter Your Zip Code to Find Insurance Quotes in Louisiana:

Louisiana Department of Insurance

  • 1702 N. 3rd St.
  • Baton Rouge, LA. 70802
  • Phone: (225) 342-5900

Louisiana Department of Transportation

  • 1201 Capitol Access Road
  • Baton Rouge, LA, 70804
  • Phone: (225) 379-1232
Get FREE Insurance Quotes and Compare Rates
Type of Insurance: Zipcode: Insured?:Yes No
Bookmark and Share
2013 Copyright © All rights reserved. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use