Washington Car Insurance Rules: Washington's Road Users' Protection Laws
When you drive your car in Washington's roads, you have to make sure that you have the right amounts of car insurance coverages. There are minimum car insurance coverages required to ensure that all users of Washington’s roads are protected against financial liability in case of road accidents. From simple scratches and mishaps to more serious collisions, you can get the protection that you need with a car insurance coverage from any one of Washington’s state recognized insurance providers. Find out how much the state requires by way of car insurance coverages and contact several insurance providers to get the best premium rates possible. Knowing what these rules are can get you the right kind of protection as you set out to drive your car in Washington’s roads. Many of these insurance providers can give you anything from the minimum state required coverages to more comprehensive coverages that protect you in more ways than one. Discuss your options with your car insurance specialist to make sure you get more value for your money. Do not go and sign up for something that you do not fully understand. You want to know exactly what you are buying and you have to be assured that what you are buying is actually worth what it promises.
The least coverage you should have when you want to drive your car in Washington is a bodily injury coverage of $25,000 and a property damage coverage of $10,000. Your bodily injury cover will take care of compensating any third party you might injure in an accident that you cause while driving your car. A pedestrian whom you accidental sideswipe, for example, might sustain injuries and would necessitate medical treatment. Your insurance company should be able to take care of dispensing the funds needed for such medical treatment up to the limits set in your policy. If you have the basic coverage, your insurance company should be able to disburse any amount up to $25,000 per person or a total of $50,000 for a single accident. Property damage, on the other hand, would cover repairs or replacement of property or properties that you may damage. Running into a neighbor’s fence or denting another car would fall under this category. Again, your insurance provider should be able to compensate the aggrieved parties with up to $10,000. When the expenses involved are more than these figures, you have to be ready to face a law suit filed by the aggrieved third parties. After your insurance limits have been exhausted, you might not have any other choice but to shoulder the rest of the expenses incurred by those you injure or those whose properties you damage.
Washington Department of Insurance
- Olympia, WA 98504
- Phone: (360) 725-7080
- Fax: (360) 586-2018
Washington Department of Transportation
- 310 Maple Park Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98504
- Phone: (360) 705-7000