Privacy Policy by TRUSTe
Auto insurance
Life Insurance
Health Insurance
Home Insurance
Business Insurance
Other Insurance
Compare Car Insurance Rates in NV
Currently Insured: Yes No

Nevada Car Insurance (NV)

Nevada Car Insurance Online car insurance quotes help all Nevada residents save on their auto insurance quotes, wherever they may be staying from Las Vegas to Reno to Elko. help you find the best car insurance rates in Nevada from trust car insurance companies.

Suitable for all auto drivers, these Nevada online insurance options even suit the drivers having bad to moderate driving skills. Not only this, you can find the best auto insurance rates in case your policy has lapsed, you’re getting the insurance done for the first time, or your license has been suspended or revoked.

In order to have a valid Nevada auto insurance policy, your vehicle needs to be registered under the Insurance Verification program or IVP of the Department of Motor Vehicles or DLC. This helps DLC to trace uninsured motorists whose registration can be cancelled and even your vehicle can be impounded.

Also, it is imperative for all motor vehicles currently registered, whether in use or not, to maintain a Nevada liability insurance during the entire registration period. It is also important for all motor vehicles owners to carry a Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card at all times in their vehicles. Not only this, if your insurance is dropped due to whatever reason you are required to get our coverage verified. If this is not done, a letter stating cancellation of coverage is issued to the vehicle owner after the motor registration is cancelled.

The owner or operator of a vehicle must have minimum liability coverage:
- $15,000 per person for Bodily Injury;
- $30,000 per accident for Bodily Injury;
- $10,000 per accident for Property Damage;

Insurance required:
- Bodily injury liability;
- Property damage liability;

Proof of insurance required:
- At registration (NO)
- At time of accident (YES)
- At all times in vehicle (YES)

(I.I.I.) recommends you carry $100,000 of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident.

Nevada Car Insurance Laws & Minimum Insurance Requirements

Reckless driving is one of the most common causes of several vehicular accidents. This happens if the driver is careless and does not follow traffic rules and regulations. In Nevada, the most common cause of vehicular accidents is drunk driving. Drivers especially teenage drivers drive while drunk. This is a sign of irresponsibility and very childlike attitude, which the law does not tolerate.

As mandated by the Law in the State of Nevada, a car or a vehicle owner is obliged to get a car or auto insurance which will protect him and his passengers from unwanted accidents. The minimum liability insurance is 15000/30000/10000. Fifteen thousand dollars will cover the injury or death of one person. Thirty thousand dollars will cover the injury or death of two or more persons and another ten thousand for property damage. Of course, this is just based on the estimated minimum financial needs in a vehicular accident -- which in reality wouldn’t be enough to support accident's financial needs and obligations.

Nevada is very strict in implementing such policy because they would like to ensure the safety of the people. They have a program called Insurance Verification Program wherein they will be able to know if you are insured or not. With the help of the insurance companies, the state will be able to identify who is subject for penalty or cancellation of car registration. They set standards at the minimum or at the lowest estimated rate so that everyone can comply and practice responsible driving. The law enforcements receive information about cancelled policies and will automatically know if you are driving with lapse insurance. If you will disobey the rules and regulations, you will definitely have to pay the penalties and charges in the future or worst, your registration will be suspended which will cause more trouble for you.

In this state, Comprehensive and collision is not an option. Although they advise people to get auto insurance which is far from the minimum, they do not offer other types of insurance coverage. They will just suggest for you to increase the limit or to upgrade your plan to ensure better benefits in the future. Remember that the higher the plan, the more chances that you will not pay for a big amount of money in the future. You just have to choose from the payment methods that the insurance company can offer you.

Failure to comply with the law will result to penalties and charges. The registration of the car and the driver's license is at stake if you are caught driving without car insurance. If you are caught in an accident without the car insurance, you will sure to have difficulty in finding the next insurance companies who will give you support because you will be part of the black listed drivers who are disobedient to the law. You have to reinstate and pay the charge if your car gets suspended. The amount of money that you will spend once caught without it is just the same as how much you will have to pay to get the legal car insurance. The best thing that you can do is to follow what the law says so that you can avoid the hassle of the consequences and save money, time and effort at the same time.

Enter Your Zip Code to Find Insurance Quotes in Nevada:

Nevada Department of Insurance

  • 2501 East Sahara Avenue Suite 302, Las Vegas, Nevada 89104
  • Phone: (702) 486-4009
  • Fax: (702) 486-4007

Nevada Department of Transportation

  • 1263 South Stewart Street, Carson City, Nevada 89712
  • Phone: (775) 888-7000
  • Fax: (775) 888-7115
Get FREE Insurance Quotes and Compare Rates
Type of Insurance: Zipcode: Insured?:Yes No
Bookmark and Share
2013 Copyright © All rights reserved. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use