North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements, Rules and Laws
Life is unfair. This is a famous statement that has brought thousands of individuals to tears even in this day and age of modernization. This is particularly true with the insurance world, wherein the law affords more protection to insurance companies in general. This is the prevailing truth in 1st, 2nd and even in 3rd world countries today. North Dakota is no exception to this, especially with the prevailing laws regarding insurance.
The main difference in this state, however, is that it offers minimum car insurance coverage options that cannot be found elsewhere. Such insurance coverage options must be initially taken into account before being able to make a claim for injury or property damage. There are several minimum car insurance coverage options available in North Dakota and these include the following:
• Bodily Injury Liability: The coverage options with regard to body injuries ranges from $25,000 up to $50,000.
• Property Damage Liability: The coverage options for property damages go up as high as $25,000.
• Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: Coverage options of uninsured or underinsured motorists who suffer body injuries still get around $25,000 up to $50,000.
• Personal Injury Protection: The coverage options for personal injury have the limit of $30,000.
In North Carolina, you have to purchase liability insurance including bodily injury, property damage, uninsured motorist coverage and no fault coverage insurance. For per person, the liability insurance is $25,000. The minimum requirement for bodily injury is $50,000. The property damage requirement for accident is $25,000. The uninsured motorist coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 for per accident. The underinsured motorist coverage for per person is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. The no fault coverage requirement is $30,000.
Bodily injury can range from the lightest injuries that include scratches and lacerations to the graver injuries like concussions and amputations. The car owner can claim $25,000 per person injured regardless of the injury sustained. The maximum amount of claims per accident is only at $50,000 however, also regardless of the number of people involved in the accident. Thus, whether or not the car owner or driver is insured or not, he or she will still be able to make a claim with reference to the insurance of the car or vehicle in question.
When shopping for insurance, make sure you take advantage of the insurance quote search engine and compare the price between the insurance companies. You should buy more insurance than the minimum amount set by the DMV so that you will be fully insured. If you only meet the minimum requirement, you can get bankrupt because of the high cost involved in the accident. You should not take risk but do your best to protect your financial status. All vehicles that operate on the highway must have an up to date registration tag.
If you are not qualified for insurance, you must enroll in the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan. If you own more than 25 vehicles, you are qualified to be self insured. The 25 vehicles must be registered under your name and not your partner’s name. The self insurance certificate must be produced when required by the traffic police.
Just like other states, you have to carry the proof of financial responsibility when you are driving on the high way. You must carry an insurance identification card. The identification card is issued by the insurance company. If you don’t have an identification card, you must produce the letter or certificate that proves you are an insured driver. If you are self insured, you can show a certificate that indicates you are self insured.
If you did not manage to show your financial responsibility, you will be counted as offending the class B misdemeanor. Under the Class Be misdemeanor, you can get fined for $150. If you are a second time offender, your car’s number plate will be confiscated by the traffic police. The car’s number plate will not be given back to you until you are able to prove that you are insured. If you happen to encounter an accident and you are unable to produce insurance policy proof, your license will be deducted 14 points. Getting a 14 points deduction will cause your driving license to become automatically suspended.
Knowledge of these coverage options will allow any insured individual to assert his or her right of claim against any North Dakota based insurance company. Make it a point to remember all of the limits mentioned above in order to make the right and necessary claims. This will save you the time, effort and energy that you can devote to other equally important things.
North Dakota Department of Insurance
- State Capitol, Fifth Floor, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505
- Phone: (701) 328 2440
- Fax: (701) 328-4880
North Dakota Department of Transportation
- 608 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505
- Phone: (701) 328-2500