Utah Car Insurance Requirements, Laws and Coverage
When it comes to auto liability protection, there is no other choice in Utah but to purchase insurance protection. Unlike other states, Utah does not allow for other ways to show financial responsibility. Financial responsibility is a label attached to a car owner’s demonstrated capacity to shoulder the financial impact of injuries and damages that could result from his operation of his vehicle. A look at a quick guide to car insurance requirements in Utah would reveal that compared with other states, Utah has higher minimum amounts set for bodily injury while those for property damage are lower. $25,000 is the minimum amount required as coverage for bodily injury for one person or a combined total of $65,000 for accidents involving more than one person. Property damage cover is set at $15,000.
Another non-negotiable in Utah car insurance requirements is the Personal Injury Protection or the PIP coverage. A quick guide to car insurance requirements in Utah explains this coverage as part of the state's no-fault law. This coverage protects the car owner or driver with a medical expense limit of at least $3,000 in case he gets injured in an accident that is caused by a third party. Only when the insured's medical expenses exceed $3,000 could he sue the driver at fault. In addition to this medical expense limit, the PIP coverage also provides coverage for up to $1,500 in funeral expenses, provision for loss of income for a period of one year, and a daily allowance for household services expenses for one year. Most insurance companies recognized by state regulatory bodies will be able to give drivers a quick guide to car insurance requirements in Utah. There are also resources that could help car owners and drivers compare car insurance quotes from various insurance providers.
If you are planning to drive in Utah, it would be best to read through a quick guide to car insurance requirements in Utah. You do not want to be penalized with fees and charges, and have your license and registration papers suspended, if you get caught without the right amount of car insurance coverage. Driving without a car insurance coverage is considered as a Class B misdemeanor. Being caught in such an offense for the first time will warrant a minimum fine of $400. It only costs a little less than $1,500 to purchase car insurance as required by law in Utah. This is a small enough of an amount to pay as compared to the fees and inconvenience that could be levied on you for not having one of the non-negotiable requirements of driving in Utah.
Utah Department of Insurance
- State Office Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
- Phone: (801) 538-3800
Utah Department of Transportation
- 4501 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
- Phone: (801) 965-4000