Privacy Policy by TRUSTe
Auto insurance
Life Insurance
Health Insurance
Home Insurance
Business Insurance
Other Insurance
Compare Car Insurance Rates in MS
Currently Insured: Yes No

Mississippi Car Insurance (MS)

Mississippi Car Insurance

The owner or operator of a vehicle must have minimum liability coverage:
- $25,000 per person for Bodily Injury;
- $50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury;
- $25,000 per accident for Property Damage;

Insurance required:
- Bodily injury liability;
- Property damage liability;

Proof of insurance required:
- At registration (NO)
- At time of accident (YES)
- At all times in vehicle (YES)

(I.I.I.) recommends you carry $100,000 of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident.

Mississippi Car Insurance Requirements, Rules and Laws: Just The Basics

The car insurance requirements for Mississippi stick to the basics. There are no frills attached to the minimum set by Mississippi car insurance requirements, rules and laws. As such, there really is no reason for any motorist to be without coverage. In Mississippi’s tort system, a person at-fault will have to be determined in any accident. Whoever is found at fault will be held financially liable for the expenses incurred by an injured party or the owner of damaged property. It would do you good to learn about the kind of tort system in force in Mississippi so that you are guided accordingly. You also have to know what your rights and limitations are in as far as holding liability is concerned in cases where you figure in a vehicular accident. There are differences in the way the kind of tort system that is in force from state to state. There are also differences in the car insurance limits prescribed by the state. It is important to know what the particular nuances of car insurance requirements are in the state where you wish to drive.

In as far as Mississippi car insurance requirements, rules and laws go, the minimum coverage requirement is a 25/50/25 coverage. This simply means that anyone who is injured due to an accident you cause while driving in Mississippi will be entitled to $25,000. If there are more injured persons, you have a limit of $50,000 for the entire incident. This is about the average in bodily injury liability coverage requirement across the United States. The property damage cover required in the state of Mississippi, however, is slightly higher than the national average at $25,000 per incident. These are all that is required of any motorist in Mississippi. There is no stopping you, however, if you wish to get coverages with higher maximum limits and with more benefits. Carefully weigh your options, your risks and your budget to determine whether or not getting an insurance coverage with more benefits would turn out better for you.

There are a lot of insurance companies in your locality. You simply have to get quotes from these companies in order to have a clear idea of how much it would take to get the kind of car insurance protection you need. You can also request for a quote comparison from various websites that offer such services over the internet. Be ready with the necessary information about your car and your driving history when you apply for any of these insurance providers. Among the things that you will be asked for are your personal details, your contact details, your car specifications, and other drivers.

Enter Your Zip Code to Find Insurance Quotes in Mississippi:

Mississippi Department of Insurance

  • 1001 Woolfolk State Office Building
  • 501 North West St.
  • Jackson, MS 39201
  • Phone: (601) 359-3569
  • Fax: (601) 359-2543

Mississippi Department of Transportation

  • 401 North West St.
  • Jackson, MS 39201
  • Phone: (601) 359-7001
  • Fax: (601) 359-7050
Get FREE Insurance Quotes and Compare Rates
Type of Insurance: Zipcode: Insured?:Yes No
Bookmark and Share
2013 Copyright © All rights reserved. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use