Privacy Policy by TRUSTe
Auto insurance
Life Insurance
Health Insurance
Home Insurance
Business Insurance
Other Insurance
Compare Car Insurance Rates in VA
Currently Insured: Yes No

Virginia Car Insurance (VA)

Virginia Car Insurance

The owner or operator of a vehicle must have minimum liability coverage:
- $25,000 per person for Bodily Injury;
- $50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury;
- $20,000 per accident for Property Damage;

Insurance required:
- Bodily injury liability;
- Property damage liability;
- Uninsured motorist;

Proof of insurance required:
- At registration (NO)
- At time of accident (NO)
- At all times in vehicle (NO)

(I.I.I.) recommends you carry $100,000 of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident.

Virginia Car Insurance Requirements, Laws and Coverage

Purchasing insurance protection for accidental liability is a must for every responsible car owner. Virginia residents who wish to drive in the state need to ensure that they have at least the minimum amount in auto liability coverage as listed in the Virginia car insurance requirements for residents. Like some states, the state of Virginia does not limit proof of financial responsibility to insurance coverage alone. There are cases when self-insuring through the posting of bonds or placing cash deposits are allowed by the state regulators. Purchasing auto liability insurance, however, remains to be the preferred instrument to show financial responsibility.

Ensuring Compliance to Virginia Car Insurance Requirements for Residents

Virginia car insurance requirements for residents stipulate that any car owner or driver should have a minimum coverage of $25,000 for bodily injuries caused on a third party, or a total amount of $50,000 if more than one person is injured. For property damage, on the other hand, the state requires a minimum coverage of $20,000. Other lower limits for additional optional coverages like the uninsured/underinsured insurance coverage are also stipulated in the state’s car insurance requirements. Once auto liability insurance has been purchased, the insurance provider could already transmit the proof of coverage to the state’s Department of Motor Vehicle. It is recommended that the driver or car owner keep a copy of the same document in his car in case he gets flagged down by the police.

The premium rates for coverages that comply with the minimum Virginia car insurance requirements for residents are slightly lower than the average premium in the whole country. Anyone who wishes to get an auto liability coverage should understand that quoted premiums may vary depending on a number of factors. Some of these are the type of car being insured, the age and experience of the driver, and the route through which the vehicle involved travels on a regular basis. For more specific premium rates for Virginia car insurance requirements for residents, there are a number of auto insurance providers that a car owner can request quotes from. Remember to check whether the insurance company you are doing business with is recognized by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle. Do not confine your search to only one insurance provider. There are several others in your locality that you might want to consider. Comparing the coverages extended by the different auto insurance companies will help you make a wise decision as to which coverage to actually purchase.

Enter Your Zip Code to Find Insurance Quotes in Virginia:

Virginia Department of Insurance

  • 1300 East Main St.
  • Richmond, VA 23219
  • Phone: (804) 371-9741

Virginia Department of Transportation

  • 1401 E. Broad St.
  • Richmond, VA 23219
  • Phone: (804) 786-2801
Get FREE Insurance Quotes and Compare Rates
Type of Insurance: Zipcode: Insured?:Yes No
Bookmark and Share
2013 Copyright © All rights reserved. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use