Oregon Car Insurance Requirements, Laws and Coverage
The State of Oregon has stringent rules and requirements when it comes to car insurance. However, insurance rates for Oregon residents are comparatively lower than in more than 50% of other US states, excluding the fact that premiums vary from person to person. Among the major factors that contribute to car insurance rates are the age of the driver, gender, driving record, and the model and condition of the vehicle. Oregon auto insurance laws require policies to include Bodily Injury Liability, Property damage liability, Personal Injury Protection and Uninsured Motorist Insurance.
Oregon Liability Coverage
The minimum auto insurance liability coverage in Oregon which includes bodily injury and property damage is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others, and $20,000 per crash for damage to the property of others. According to state laws, every liability policy must provide $15,000 per person as personal injury protection. In addition, laws also mandate uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash for bodily injury.
Consequences of Being Uninsured or Underinsured
Those who are found to be without minimum coverage can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor charge. This can mean a suspension of the offenders driving license as well as fines and a one year jail term, or both. In addition, the offender will also be responsible to pay towing and storage fees. If an uninsured driver is involved in a crash, his or her driving license and privileges are suspended for a year. Driving privileges can be reinstated on filing proof of future responsibility with the Department of Motor Vehicles for three years.
In case of an accident, a driver will be required to provide proof of insurance. In addition, the insurer will need to verify the validity of the insurance policy. The DMV also conducts random checks on vehicles every month where owners are required to provide their insurance details. These details are verified with the insurance company. Failure to respond to the DMV’s request can result in suspension of driving privileges.
Auto insurance in Oregon is based on the ‘no-fault system’ where the driver is entitled to receive payment from the insurance company no matter who caused the accident. In addition, drivers have the right to sue the party at for pain and suffering and any other expenses including medical costs. It is advisable for all drivers in the state of Oregon to make sure that their insurance card contains accurate information including their current vehicle registration in order to continue to reap the benefits of auto insurance.
Oregon Department of Insurance
- 350 Winter St NE
- Salem, OR 97301
- Phone: (503) 947-7980
- Fax: (503) 378-4351
Oregon Department of Transportation
- 355 Capitol St. N.E.
- Salem, OR 97301
- Phone: (888) 275-6368
- Fax: (503) 986-3432