The Risks of Circumventing the Requirements
"Equality before the law.", this is the motto of Nebraska and it shows when they enforce their minimum liability coverage for car insurance. The state of Nebraska, requires that the liability covers up to twenty-five thousand dollars for each injured person involved; fifty-grand grand for each accident; twenty-five grand for property damage. Basically, people that suffer body harm will be covered from the minimum of twenty-five thousand dollars to fifty thousand dollars. Just like most states in the United States, someone is liable for the accidents and someone must be found at-fault for the damage. The at-fault system, referred to as the "Tort" system, varies from state to state and the proper research should be implement by the interested party. Although, it is not required, you can purchase the Underinsured or the Uninsured Motorist Body Injury coverage, this basically covers the victims of uninsured drivers.
Unless you have proof of financial responsibility, you should consider purchasing comprehensive insurance. With comprehensive insurance, you can be rest assured that all parties involved in the unfortunate incident of a tragic accident will be covered. If a person does not have the comprehensive insurance, they may find themselves without a car and deep in medical debt if their car is totaled and emergency room visits is initiated by the person not covered. Emergency room visits without the proper insurance can rack up thousands of dollars in debt; if just for a check-up. If you are without liability insurance and you cause a wreck, the victims and their insurance company may not have much choice but to initiate a civil matter. If a civil matter arises, you could be liable for the court costs, lawyers, fines, and certain limitations will be imposed on your ability to drive. Usually then, the courts will fine you then suspend your license or revoke it depending on the circumstances.
Nebraska Car Insurance Laws & Minimum Requirements
The Car Insurance laws in the United States vary by state, and in some case, even by city. This is true especially in the state of Nebraska located in the mid-western part of the United States. Thus, the minimum requirements prescribed by the laws and statutes of Nebraska are different from those prescribed in California, North Carolina and North Dakota. Although the difference is not that big, it still has a big impact on the insured, particularly with regard to the amount of premium paid by the latter. Insurance coverage is also different per state, especially with regard to the type of car or vehicle insured.
The state of Nebraska adheres to the "fault system" also known as the Torts system. This is a kind of system that requires someone to be liable during an accident or damage to property in order for the insured to make a valid claim. The person responsible for the accident, injury or damage to property together with his or her insurance company is responsible for the reparation and expenses that accompany such accident, injury or damage to property. This fault or tort system varies from state to state, but the difference is usually minimal.
The bodily injury liability provision of the Nebraska State Law regarding insurance allows for a maximum of $25,000 claim per injured person. It also allows a limit of $50,000 per accident that the car or vehicle is involved in an accident. The property damage liability, on the other hand, allows for a minimum limit of $25,000. The value rises depending on the value of the damage property in question. This basic coverage is typically referred to by insurance companies as the 25/50/25 coverage.
There are several minimum requirements prescribed by the Nebraska car insurance laws for insured owners of cars to comply with some of which include:
• The financial capability of the car owner to pay the insurance premium amounting to $1,000 up to $2,000 for a period of 8 months up to 12 months.
• A certification of residence indicating that the car owner is a valid and legal resident of the state of Nebraska.
• At least one valid ID, preferably a driver's license issued in Nebraska.
To be able to insure a car or vehicle in Nebraska, the said car or vehicle must not be over 20 years old. Newer models of cars typically cost higher than the older models. The cost of the insurance premium to be paid also differs with the make and model of the car involved. Luxury cars typically cost more than sedans, thus the former's premium costs higher than the latter's. Also, the more cars you insure then the higher the chances of getting discounts and rebates from numerous Nebraska based insurance companies today.
Once you are able to comply with the said requirements, you will be able to insure any car on your possession. Luxury cars, sedans, vans and other car types can be insured for a period of 6 months up to 12 months, depending on the insurance contract entered into by the insurer and the insured.
Nebraska Department of Insurance
- 941 O Street, Suite 400, Lincoln, NE 68508
- Phone: (402) 471-2201
Nebraska Department of Transportation
- 302 Superior St. Lincoln, NE 68521
- Phone: (402) 471-0850
- Fax: (402) 471-3401
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
- 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509
- Phone: (402) 471-2281
- Fax: (402) 471-9594