New Hampshire Car Insurance Requirements, Rules and Laws
New Hampshire is different than other states in America. It does not require the drivers to be insured with an auto liability policy. The drivers also don't have to provide proof of financial responsibilities. Despite that, the government of New Hampshire requires certain group of people to carry the auto liability insurance. The groups of people that must carry the auto liability insurance include people who have encountered road accident before, people who are guilty of driving under alcohol or drug influence, people with multiple driving convictions and people who had violated the traffic rules. If you violated the traffic rules, the traffic police will review your driving record. People who meet one of the listed conditions must buy the bodily injury and property damage insurance. You must carry the auto insurance for at least 3 years but the terms will vary for different people.
Insurance policies are being sold while insurance premiums are being paid left and right. This is a fact that is currently being observed in several parts of the United States. New Hampshire, a state in the New England region situated in the upper eastern parts of the U.S. is also included in this common trade of insurance premium and insurance policies alike. This prompted lawmakers and the local government of New Hampshire to enunciate laws and amendments to such laws while tackling the current car insurance trade and minimum requirements.
Thus, the car insurance requirements and some of the insurance laws differ from other states, making the insurance statutes in New Hampshire as one of the most unique set of laws in the U.S. today. To prove this, New Hampshire has the so called “financial responsibility law”, a law that mandates every car owner and motorist alike to insure his or her car. The law also requires such car owner to have the necessary cash or money that can be used to pay for any damage caused to other people if there is not insurance involved.
The insurance coverage options in New Hampshire are as follows:
• BIL or Bodily Injury Liability - $25,000 with a limit of $50,000
• PDL or Property Damage Liability – a limit of $25,000
• UMBI or Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury - $25,000 with a limit of $50,000
• MP or Medical Payments – a limit of $1,000
If you are required to buy auto liability insurance, you must make sure you meet the minimum requirements. The basic insurance coverage for New Hampshire is known as the 25/50/25 coverage. Like in other states, the bodily injury liability covers the $25,000 per person with the limit of $50,000 per accident. The property damage liability coverage comes with a minimum limit of $25,000 and the value can increase further depending on the value of the property involved in the accident. But, unlike in other states, the medical bills or payments are covered here in New Hampshire, with a limit of $1,000 per injury. It is recommended that you purchase more than the insurance requirement so that you can be sure that you will never be financially devastated. The accident damage cost can be expensive so you need to buy higher insurance. You can consult your insurance agent to determine how much coverage you need. If you cannot afford the damage cost of the third party's property and medical cost, your driving license will be suspended.
There are also numerous car insurance requirements that must be complied with in accordance with New Hampshire laws and these are:
• Proof of residence in New Hampshire.
• Proof of ownership of the insured car.
• Compliance with the smoke emission test conducted yearly.
• The insured car must not be over 25 years old.
Non-residents of New Hampshire will have difficulty acquiring car insurance in the said state. The reason for this is quite obvious since the insurance laws are different between states. Thus, what may be applicable to one state may not be applicable to another. Non-owners of cars that are to be insured will also find difficulty since only the registered owners can avail of insurance policies being sold by insurance companies based in the New Hampshire state.
Smoke emission tests ensure that cars in New Hampshire do not emit black smoke. Thus, it is necessary for each car to be fully overhauled in order to be deemed fit for the road. The insured car must also not be over 25 years since older models are prone to wreckage, break-ups and accidents.
You should do research on the quotes provided by different insurance companies before you buy the auto insurance. You can answer the surveys at the online insurance company websites to get instant quotes. To get accurate quotes, you should call the insurance company and tell him which coverage you want to buy.
Occasionally, the traffic police will stop you and ask you to show your proof of insurance. You must show the insurance identification card that is obtained from he insurance company. If the insurance card is not available at that time, you can show the insurance certificate. You must always pay the car insurance on time otherwise the DMV will be notified. If you are not insured, you have to provide proof that you hold a liability insurance currently. Besides, you also have to pay for the reinstatement fee.
New Hampshire Department of Insurance
- 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14, Concord, NH 03301
- Phone: (603) 271-1406
New Hampshire Department of Transportation
- John O. Morton Building, 7 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03302
- Phone: (603) 271-3734
- Fax: (603) 271-3914