Florida Car Insurance Requirements, Laws and Coverage
Whether you are already living in Florida or in this state for the first time you must consider having your vehicle insured and registered as soon as you possibly can. Under Florida state law, you can become a candidate for license suspension or other penalty charges once you fail to have your vehicle insured and registered.
In insuring your vehicle(s) you need to choose the company which will be more beneficial to your needs when emergencies or accidents happen. And like most states in America, there is a minimum insurance quote offered for your financial convenience. However, to be able to find the best insurance policy you need to shop around for flexible ones that are sure to have a bigger coverage. Of course having bigger insurance coverage means higher cost but you have to keep in mind that the higher the cost the higher the requirements required by the insurance policy.
When it comes to the requirements, you need to check a few things first before proceeding to the best company of your choice. Check your driving background beforehand so you’ll know what to expect. Furthermore, you can check quotes online to have a bird’s eye view of what the company may offer you for your vehicle. Typically, an insurance company checks for personal background including marital status and residential background. Another factor checked is the vehicle’s make and type. There are also other factors considered and required by the company for you to be able to avail for the best insurance policy applicable for your needs. Basically, it will all depend on the city you are in and the insurance company you choose.
Registration of your newly insured vehicle is the next step you need to take. It is the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles that is responsible for registering your vehicle in Florida. It is also the same department which is authorized to suspend your license if you fail to oblige to the registration process. If your vehicle and license is suspended you are entitled to a reinstatement fee of $50.00 to $150.00 depending on the violation committed, this is applicable to Florida residents only. On the other hand, if you are new to the state, your current insurance policy and registration from your previous state is not recognized in the state of Florida.
Florida Department of Insurance
- 200 East Gaines Street
- Tallahassee, FL 32399
- Phone: (850) 413-3100
Florida Department of Transportation
- 605 Suwannee Street Tallahassee
- Florida 32399
- Phone: (866) 374-3368
Department of Motor Vehicles
- Neil Kirkman Building
- 2900 Apalachee Parkway
- Tallahassee, FL 32399
- Phone: (850) 617-2000